PayLens /Companies
Klarna Bank AB
BNPL operator
€6.7bnMarket cap · as of 1 Jun 2026 · api.nasdaq.com
- Revenue
- SEK 28.1Bas of 2025-12
- Employees
- 3,149
- Runs
- Klarna
- Headquarters
- Stockholm, Sweden
- Website
- klarna.com
What it does
Swedish bank, holder of a full banking licence since 2017, that sells shoppers deferred and split payment at other people's checkouts: pay in full, pay in 30 days, pay in three or four interest-free instalments, or longer financing. The merchant is paid upfront and in full and Klarna carries the default and fraud risk. It counts 120 million active consumers and more than 1.2 million merchants across 26 countries, reached directly and through Stripe, Adyen, Nexi, Mollie, Worldpay, Worldline and Checkout.com.
Deals
- Sep 2025·acquired by — Klarna completed its NYSE IPO on 10 Sep 2025, selling 5.0 million new shares and 29.3 million shares from existing holders at $40, with 5.1 million over-allotment shares sold on 22 Sep 2025. The offering valued the Stockholm-run BNPL and checkout provider at about $15bn.
- Jun 2024·sold Consortium led by Kamjar Hajabdolahi — Klarna announced in June 2024 the divestment of Klarna Checkout to a consortium led by Kamjar Hajabdolahi of BLQ Invest, with Systematic Growth and Martin Randel, which took ownership on 1 Oct 2024 and renamed it Kustom. Klarna did not state a price; press reports valued the unit at SEK 5.4bn.
- Feb 2017·acquired BillPay GmbH — Klarna agreed to buy BillPay from Wonga, subject to BaFin approval; terms were not disclosed and Sky News reported about £60M. BillPay operated in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and the Netherlands.
Developments
1tracked executive
Who runs itPayLens Radar
The newsletter on European payments: the week in five minutes. The developments that matter, curated and sourced, every Tuesday in your inbox. Free, no account needed.
Next issue in
––days
––hrs
––min
––sec
Source: company filings and website·Data as of 28 Sep 2026·Report wrong information·All 155 companies